The illustrious history of Hasselblad, my camera of choice

hasselblad-v-series

When I started photography about 4 years ago, I picked up a Canon full frame EOS 6D and told myself, “This is it. This is THE camera. The ONE CAMERA for me.”

I mean, it’s in the 1 digit series right?

Fast forward 3 years later when I bought my first Hasselblad digital medium format camera did I realise there was an even greater joy in life than opening a box from Canon. It was a moment of pure lust and crazy excitement when I opened the FedEx package and held out the Hassie H-Series body on my palm and I raised it up towards the light. Freaking Simba game strong. It was ecstasy I tell you. I carried it everywhere I went.

(I’d love to show you a picture of me in the toilet with it, but that’d be NSFW. For now this would do.)

file_000

Hasselblad has this crazy long history, and this short video by the Swedish manufacturer tailing history back to the time when the first moon landers (Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin) took the Hasselblad to the moon to shoot the moon landing pics plus all the crazy shit it went through in its lifetime sums it up.

About the author

Alexcheous Cheng is a professional photographer from Singapore who shoots a wide range of commercial pictures through his brand Paragon Pictures. His notable clients include multinationals like Citibank, Johnson & Johnson and Amcor, to name a few. He believes in doing things a notch better and his passion is delivering the highest quality images because ‘if you do the same thing as everyone else, you will get the same results’. For enquiries for your own photography campaigns, drop him a mail at http://www.paragon.pictures/contact/.

2 thoughts on “The illustrious history of Hasselblad, my camera of choice

  1. I was a Hazzie narc once, untill I rented the brand new just minted 2000 from a pro shop ….. I had made my first appointment with stylist and model and was over the moon of what I would and could do with this the holy grail of cameras, that was until I opened the camera body box … out came the body and 2 springs and 4 screws (I remember as if it was yesterday) and the proshop couldn’t/wouldn’t help me.

    What a let down. My trusty Canon A1 rolled 20 films that day, but was I disapointed. From that day I have always (and will always) been thinking of Hasselblad (which IS a good camera) as a Razzleblad.

    Later when I wentured bach to analogue medium format, after a stint as a megapixel whore, I went with Bronnies that never have let me down.

    But good luck with your Razzleblad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Soren, that’s an unfortunate tale. I do hopeyou managed to get some form of return on the product. Yes, I’m really happy with moi ‘Razzleblad’, as you put it. It really really is one of the pinnacles of camera equipment.

      And yes the old stuff are tough.

      Like

Leave a Reply

